Monkeys, motorbikes and photo shoots.

Hi everyone! So we’ve been here for about 6 days now and I feel like I’m pretty used to the heat and time change.  We’ve had a couple of interesting days.  One of the weirdest experiences I’ve had so far has been going to the monkey temple.  We drove our motorbike about 30 minutes to the Uluwatu temple.  When we got there they had us both put on satin sarongs to cover our legs while we were in the temple.  We bought a few bags of fruit to feed the monkeys with, but as soon as a monkey started running at me with those crazy looking eyes I just panicked!  I thought the monkey was going to attack me or bite me and I threw my entire 3 bags of fruit at it and started hyperventilating. I was pretty much freaking out for the next 30 minutes  until Matt forced me to feed one and then I calmed down a little bit.

(Matt side Note– It was pretty much the funniest thing that has happened on the trip so far. Sasha totally lost her shit. The second the first big monkey came sauntering her way she screamed “I dont like it!” and chucked all three bags of fruit at the monkey, ran behind me and grabbed my arm so hard I think I have a bruise. )

The weird thing wasn’t the monkeys though, it was the hoards of people wanting to take pictures with us.  We (actually I) was probably either the whitest person they had ever seen or one of the only white people they had ever seen.  About 30 people came up to us wanting to take pictures with Matt and I and then they would take turns having everyone in their group take a picture with us and then take group pictures and on and on. I couldn’t quite tell if they were admiring us or laughing at us but they were very friendly.  They were mostly people from Java (One of the larger islands in Indonesia located next to Bali) where the majority of people are Muslim and they don’t see very many foreigners.

For the most part everythings been really laid back.  We’ve made friends with a group of french surfers staying at our bungalows.  We try to go to different beaches everyday or every few days.  I got one of the best massages of my life on the beach for $8.  Sometimes the people trying to sell me sarongs and jewelry break my heart because they walk around all day in the heat carrying coolers or big bags on their heads.  Driving around on the pot hole roads here scares me so much! But Matt is being very careful. We actually got a flat tire yesterday and had to push the bike all the way back to our room, which wasnt too bad.  We’ll post more pictures soon! We miss and love you all.

Sasha.

(Matt side note #2 – For all my surfer buddies out there it has just been getting better and better. Yesterday I hit dawn patrol at Bingin and surfed it with a group of about 10. There was a bit to be desired with the incoming tide, but a fun session to start the day either way. Later in the day we charged over to Balangan where I had the best session of the trip so far. Solid 6-8 with some freak 10 ft sets coming through now and again. Great shape with a really solid section breaking off the point and then closing out about 100 yards down after which the inside section started reeling. So much fun…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

